Skip to main content
Submit Listing

Facebook icon Twitter icon Instagram icon Youtube Icon

Listings

  1. See & Do
  2. »
  3. History & Heritage
  4. » Scalan seminary and mills

Scalan seminary and mills

Scalan_CNPA Rupert Shanks 006
Scalan mills
17 06 20 Scalan seminary for website.jpg
scalanwebcrop
Scalan mill threshing machine
Address:
Scalan, Ballindalloch, UK
Description:

Discover the hidden history of Scalan in the remote Braes of Glenlivet. This was originally the site of a secret Roman Catholic seminary where priests, known as 'heather priests' were trained during the 1700s when Catholicism was prohibited.

Following the departure of the priests in 1799, Scalan reverted to a farm. Two steading buildings were built housing corn threshing mills which served the Glenlivet farming community. The threshing machines and water wheels are still in place along with a wealth of historical graffiti telling the story of farming life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Restoration work is currently taking place during 2019 to conserve the mill buildings,  improve visitor access and interpret the important role of Scalan within the local community and nationally. This is being funded through the Tomintoul & Glenlivet Landscape Partnership.

The seminary building is looked after by the Scalan Association and is open to the public all year round. There are toilet facilities open during the summer months.

Access is by foot along a farm track, 1km from the Carrachs carpark at the end of the public road.

Please note that access may be disrupted around the site during April to October 2019 while conservation works are taking place in the mill buildings.  However access to the seminary will remain open during this time.

Additional Information:

Open all year round.

NB access around the Scalan site may be disrupted during April to October 2019 while conservation works are taking place on the mill buildings. However the seminary building will remain open during this time.

Address:
Scalan, Ballindalloch, UK
Description:

Discover the hidden history of Scalan in the remote Braes of Glenlivet. This was originally the site of a secret Roman Catholic seminary where priests, known as 'heather priests' were trained during the 1700s when Catholicism was prohibited.

Following the departure of the priests in 1799, Scalan reverted to a farm. Two steading buildings were built housing corn threshing mills which served the Glenlivet farming community. The threshing machines and water wheels are still in place along with a wealth of historical graffiti telling the story of farming life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Restoration work is currently taking place during 2019 to conserve the mill buildings,  improve visitor access and interpret the important role of Scalan within the local community and nationally. This is being funded through the Tomintoul & Glenlivet Landscape Partnership.

The seminary building is looked after by the Scalan Association and is open to the public all year round. There are toilet facilities open during the summer months.

Access is by foot along a farm track, 1km from the Carrachs carpark at the end of the public road.

Please note that access may be disrupted around the site during April to October 2019 while conservation works are taking place in the mill buildings.  However access to the seminary will remain open during this time.

Additional Information:

Open all year round.

NB access around the Scalan site may be disrupted during April to October 2019 while conservation works are taking place on the mill buildings. However the seminary building will remain open during this time.

 

Facebook icon Twitter icon Instagram icon Youtube Icon